EXPERT TALKS ONLINE WEBINAR

Delivering Ofsted’s Digital Strategy

April 14, 2021 6:00 pm BST
(Convert to your timezone here.)

Approximately 1 hour(s) with question time included.

About this event

In this talk, Brigid and Deborah will cover building an internal capability to develop digital services in-house, and how they are approaching replacing their legacy estate with modern digital applications for their workforce:

  • Creating the case for change, how they secured the investment from their Executive Board.
  • Developing an operating model that would enable them to deliver their ambition.
  • Approaching legacy replacement, taking a modular approach to deliver over time.

**

This talk takes place at:
13.00 ET (US)

18.00 BST

19.00 SAST

22.30 IST

04.00 15/3/2021 AEDT

REGISTER FOR EVENT

Speakers

Brigid McBride
Ofsted, Programme Director, Digital Change

Brigid leads the digital team in Ofsted with responsibility for developing and embedding Ofsted’s digital strategy. This includes implementing a new operating model, developing a range of digital products and services, and replacing Ofsted’s aging technology estate. 

Brigid and her team have recently replaced Ofsted’s customer facing services with modern digital applications and are one year into a three-year programme to replace the remainder of Ofsted’s legacy estate. 

Brigid previously led the digital team in HMRC. Her responsibilities included:

  • – overseeing a huge digital portfolio of more than 40 current projects
  • – development of HMRCs Multi-Channel Digital Tax Platform 

Whilst at HMRC Brigid launched the ambitious API strategy, kick-starting the Department’s journey from a submissions-only service to increasingly sophisticated interactions with tax and business software packages. 

Brigid joined the Civil Service in 1987. Since then she has been instrumental in delivering significant, high profile transformational projects both in the Department for Work and Pensions (DWP) and in HMRC. Many of these initiatives have been right at the forefront of changing how government does business with its customers. 

Deborah Carne
Ofsted, Head of Portfolio, Projects and Improvement

Deborah leads the Portfolio and Projects team in Ofsted.

The team have responsibility for managing Ofsted DDaT portfolio of work and providing delivery and change management to digital and non-digital projects and programmes.

Prior to working in Ofsted Deborah was a Portfolio Director at HM Passport Office.

This involved responsibility for the AWS platform, the data transformation project and leading the 2nd level support team for digital services.