EXPERT TALKS ONLINE WEBINAR

Dave Farley: Lessons From The Cyberpunk 2077 Release

PAST EVENT

This event took place on Feb 10, 2021

Approximately 1 hour(s) with question time included.

About this event

At the end of last year I released a video on my Software Engineering YouTube channel called “Bad Software Engineering Killed the Cyberpunk 2077 Release.”

It was ridiculously successful, so far over 445k views.

In this talk, I reflect on the failures in Software Engineering exemplified in the CyberPunk 2077 release, and on the comments section of my YouTube video which were also fascinating.

The most common negative comments were best paraphrased by, “this guy blames the developers, but it was the evil management.”

I think that this demonstrates a deep disconnect in our organisations and in what “engineering” for software means.

In this talk, we will also explore how we should think about engineering in software terms, and why it matters.

***
This talk takes place at:

6pm GMT

8pm SAST

1pm ET (US)

The talk is being repeated three hours later at a more friendly time for our colleagues in Australia and New Zealand:

4pm ET (USA)

9pm GMT

Feb 11th 8am AEDT

Feb 11th 10am NZDT

Register here 

 

WATCH THE EVENT

Dave Farley: Lessons From The Cyberpunk 2077 Release

watch the video online

This event has ended however you can watch it, along with other past events, via the link below.

WATCH EVENT

Speaker

Dave Farley

Dave Farley

Dave Farley is the founder and director of Continuous Delivery Ltd. He is a regular conference speaker, YouTuber and widely read blogger on technology and software development.

Dave is a thought leader in the field of software development and has a long track record in doing innovative work, creating high-performance teams, shaping organisations for success and creating outstanding software.

Dave is author of the award-winning book ‘Continuous Delivery’ that describes, what many regard as, the state-of-the-art in software development process.

Dave is also one of the authors of the ‘Reactive Manifesto’ which describes a modern approach to high-performance, efficient, system design. He was the Head of Development for LMAX Ltd. a company that is widely respected for the quality of its software and innovative approach to design. He was also part of the team that created the LMAX Disruptor, which won the Duke Award for open source software.

Dave’s website